First Degree DWI Charge? Joel Can Make the Difference
A 1st degree DWI in the state of Minnesota is a felony and is the most severe form of DWI you can get. The information below comes from the law office of Joel Heiligman — renowned 1st degree DUI attorney in Minneapolis — and will help you understand just some of what’s at stake.
1st degree DWI laws in Minnesota stipulate that you will receive the charge for any of the following:
- If you have 3 previous DWI offenses within the last 10 years
- If you have ever had a felony DWI in the past
- If you have a canceled license due to impaired driving within the last 10 years
- If you have previously been convicted under Minnesota’s criminal vehicular homicide statutes related to substance abuse
If convicted of a 1st degree DWI, you will face what’s called a presumptive prison sentence, meaning there will be a recommended length of jail time attached to the sentence. The maximum punishment for a 1st degree DWI is a $14,000 fine and 7 years jail time.
The judge can decide to stay the prison sentence (meaning you won’t serve time in prison), but you still may spend some time in the county jail. You will also undergo a lengthy period of alcohol monitoring/treatment and a driver’s license revocation period of typically four years.
When the license is reinstated, it will have the “no alcohol use” restriction, commonly known as the B-card. It’s also important to remember that any DWI offense will incur additional expenses for reinstatement fees and higher insurance.
If you’re a 1st degree DWI offender, it’s important to have a good lawyer to defend you. As an experienced 1st degree DWI lawyer, Joel Heiligman has the know-how to help you fight back and achieve the best results possible. Call today at 763-788-9231.