Going Up Against A Second Degree DWI? Fight Back
A 2nd degree DWI is a gross misdemeanor and is punishable by 1 year of jail time or $3,000 worth of fines. Talking with an experienced 2nd degree DUI attorney in Minnesota like Joel Heiligman can help you better understand the charge you’re facing. Here’s just some of the information you’ll need to know:
2nd degree DWIs in Minneapolis can mean the loss of your driver’s license, forfeiture of the vehicle used at the time of the incident and impoundment of plates (better known as “whiskey plates”).
A 2nd degree DWI in the state of Minnesota is given when a driver is not only under the influence of alcohol, but has also received at least two prior DWIs within the last 10 years, has a BAC of .16 or higher or has at least two aggregating factors.
Aggregating factors are offenses that are occurring that make the punishment more severe. These include, but aren’t limited to refusal of chemical testing, BAC levels of .16 or higher and having a child present who is under the age of 16.
2nd degree charges of this nature have severe consequences, making it important that you look for help right away. For the 2nd degree DWI lawyer Minneapolis trusts, contact Joel Heiligman Law.