Facing a Third Degree DWI Charge? Joel Can Help
3rd degree DWI charges are typically given when drivers commit their second impaired driving violation within a ten-year time span. An experienced 3rd degree DUI attorney in Minnesota like Joel Heiligman can help you understand all the specifics regarding 3rd degree charges. Below is just some of what you’ll need to know:
Minnesota DWI laws stipulate that a first time offender may receive a 3rd degree charge should the offense include one of the following aggravating factors:
- Refusal to comply with a chemical test administered by law enforcement
- Having a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle during the time of the offense
- Having a BAC of .16 or higher upon committing the offense.
DWI charges in the third degree are considered gross misdemeanors, are punishable by up to 1 year in jail, and may require the payment of a $3,000 fine. If having been charged with a 3rd degree DUI, MN drivers may also be subject to the loss of driving privileges, probation, alcohol monitoring, and whiskey plates.
If you’re looking for a 3rd degree DWI lawyer, Minneapolis has plenty of options; however, there’s no attorney that’ll will work harder on your case than Joel Heiligman. Contact our law offices today.