4th Degree DWI – Minnesota-specific Information
4th degree DWI charges are typically given to first time offenders and considered misdemeanors under state law when no aggravating factors are present. A knowledgeable 4th degree DUI attorney in Minnesota like Joel Heiligman can tell you all the ins and outs regarding such a charge and how to fight it. Here’s what you need to know:
Aggravating factors that can increase a DWI offense in severity to a gross misdemeanor may include but are not limited to the following:
- Having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) higher than .16
- Having a previous impaired driving offense within the past 10 years
- Having a child of under 16 in the vehicle during the time of the offense (If the child is at least 3 years younger than the driver).
- Refusing a blood, breath or urine test
While the least severe of DWI offenses, 4th degree offenses should be taken with utmost seriousness. Concerning a 4th degree DWI, Minnesota law stipulates that although there is no minimum mandatory sentencing, offenders may be subject to serving up to 90 days in jail; however, jail time is considered unlikely upon a first time offense. Additionally, 4th degree DWI offenders may be subject to paying fines of up to $1,000, may have their license suspended for up to 90 days, and may receive probation.
MN DUI laws vary and additional penalties for 4th degree offenses can also depend upon which Minnesota counties drivers are charged in. Some counties in the state require offenders to complete community service, pay additional fines, along with completing an alcohol assessment program. As an experienced 4th degree DWI lawyer, Minneapolis based Joel Heiligman will work to ensure that you receive a reduced sentence if you’re facing such a charge. Call 763-788-9231.